[Victoria] The Great Ocean Road (Part 2)

The journey continues from [Victoria] The Great Ocean Road (Part 1). After lunching in Apollo Point, the road turned inland past a big forest. By the time I could see the water again (kind of), it’s basically near the Twelve Apostles lookout point.

A word of caution, the visitor centre gets really busy! After securing a carpark, it’s a short walk under the highway to get to the lookout point. You are then rewarded with this glorious postcard view. This has to be one of the top things to look at in the whole of Victoria.

The Twelve Apostles!
The Twelve Apostles!

From here westwards, there are a few more rock formations which are worthy of note. They are not as famous as the Apostles but just as interesting.

Loch Ard Gorge
Loch Ard Gorge

The Loch Ard Gorge allows you to get up close and personal with the beach itself. The greenish hue, and the golden sand, reminds me of the opening video of Final Fantasy VIII (Liberi Fatali anyone?).

I stayed in a town called Port Campbell, but further west from there were some more spots I wanted to check out.

London Bridge
London Bridge, now known as London Arch

The above was once called London Bridge, but once the middle section collapsed it was renamed to be just an Arch. Like all the other rock formations, eventually nature will reclaim these and erode them I suppose.

The path down to the Grotto
The path down to the Grotto
The Grotto
The Grotto

It’s not quite a cave, but kind of feels like it I suppose. The Grotto is apparently super Instagrammable since there were lots of kids taking photos inside when I was there.

After this I didn’t want to go back to the hostel just yet, so I headed back to the Twelve Apostles to watch the sunset.

The Twelve Apostles at Sunset
The Twelve Apostles at Sunset

It got really really cold there with all the salty wind whipping at my face! But a sunset at one of Australia’s prettiest natural sights was definitely worth the slight physical discomfort. If you go in summer I’m sure it’s warmer!

If you are travelling further west, you will eventually reach a cool sounding town called Warrnambool, and then eventually you’ll leave Victoria and reach Adelaide. I would have done that if I had the time, but instead I headed north. Stay tuned for this!

One comment

Leave a Reply

