Pinnacles Walk in Coromandel

Back in autumn (a long time ago now since spring seems to be in the air… yay!) my friend and I did the famous Pinnacles Track in the Coromandel. This was my first overnight tramping hike so I was suitably giddy with excitement. Was I going to perish, or were the packets of Mi Goreng going to sustain me against all odds?

I guess since I am writing to you now, you can pretty much guess that it ended reasonably well.

Despite all the rain, mud, mist and overcast skies, it was a fun walk. I wouldn’t mind doing it again in summer with the blue sky to see the difference. But one of the upshots of having lots of rain before a walk is that the creeks and waterfalls will be fuller and look nicer to photograph 🙂

Creek on the Pinnacles track
Creek on the Pinnacles track

A few water crossing, uphill treks and mud slides later, we caught sight of the Pinnacles summit.

One of the early glimpses of the Pinnacles
One of the early glimpses of the Pinnacles

Such a lovely view of mountains, made me think of the Led Zeppelin song “Over the Hills and Far Away”. My attempts of humming the tune were quickly shot down by my tramping buddy.

Over the Hills and Far Away
Over the Hills and Far Away

The next morning we tackled the summit walk. It was a slightly misty morning giving a different feel to the place. It felt a little Tolkienesque. My attempts to hum the Misty Mountain song from The Hobbit were also speedily dispatched. It was not going to be a musical journey, apparently.

Misty morning
Misty morning

Here’s a view of the Pinnacles from up close.

The Pinnacles
The Pinnacles

Meanwhile my travelling companion went for an epic pose with a hi-viz jacket. Safety first, folks.

Hi Viz Tramping
Hi Viz Tramping

The walk down was highlighted with more mud slides and a bad knee. I won’t bore you with that. Here’s a peek of our dinner under the stars that night, though. I have to say, best Mi Goreng ever.

Best Mi Goreng Ever
Best Mi Goreng Ever
Leave a Reply

